fbpx

Role of a mentee

Mentee – Your role? The initiator.

A mentee is someone with vision and passion. Accompanied and supported by the right mentor, a mentee works zealously to realize their dreams and goals.

The strong desire for personal and professional development is at the forefront of a mentee’s thinking. In their mentoring program, mentees take the initiative. Core characteristics of a mentee are the search for constructive feedback from their mentor as well as encouragement for their goals. A mentee sees the path to success in their passion.

Mentee 10 commandments for your success

1. Preparation is key

Nothing is more valuable than the time spent together. Benefit from Mentor Lane’s existing materials und resources to use your time with your mentor as efficiently as possible. Review materials from past sessions before moving on with the next meeting.

2. Active listening

Listen actively. Develop a better understanding of yourself. The background, experiences and perspectives of your mentor will help you do this.

3. Take initiative

Your mentor is ready to help you. Accept this offer and take initiative in communicating with your mentor. Set up meetings to get you organized, ask questions and address issues. Take responsibility and actively participate in your mentoring relationship.

4. Recognize and understand perspectives

You and your mentor are in different phases of your lives. Depending on personal and cultural backgrounds, you bear witness to different experiences, values and ambitions than your mentor. Acknowledge and develop an understanding for those versatile perspectives and benefit from them. Develop an understanding of the existence and validity of these differences. Having an objective view will help you have fruitful discussions, which will bring you closer to your common goal.

5. Maintain focus

Never lose focus. Use your meetings efficiently and work on reaching your set milestones. Show respect and do not stray from your core topics during your meetings.

6. Maintain professionalism

Maintain discretion, admit mistakes and take accountability for them. Always keep your final objective in mind. Avoid inappropriate topics, remarks and gestures. Stay professional in every respect when dealing with your mentor.

7. Allow criticism and feedback

Your mentor will give you constructive feedback and advice. Do not perceive this as an attack on your person. Be open to constructive suggestions and broaden your horizon. Different perspectives will open new doors for you.

8. Give criticism and feedback

Your mentor is not perfect either. Not every feedback, opinion or advice from your mentor will lead you to the desired success. Keep your style and ask critical questions. Express doubts and criticism with respect. Discuss your issues tactfully and achieve lucrative results through a unique exchange.

9. Mentoring means partnership

Mentoring is focused on the professional and personal development of an individual. Do not concentrate on learning certain skills or competencies from your mentor. Give yourself incentives and let your mentor benefit from fresh ideas. Help your mentor expand their own horizon, share successes and failures and create a sense of togetherness.

10. Commitment

Mentoring means commitment for you and especially for your mentor. Take enough time for your mentor. The more work you invest, the greater your yield. Be punctual, avoid canceling meetings at short notice and make sure you are available for important issues.

Mentor Lane? – Yes, please.

Sign up and receive your exclusive invitation to the Mentor Lane platform and community.

Mentee German

More questions?
Contact us.

(+49) 69 3487 4601
hello@mentorlane.com

fbpx

Mentoring Guide –

Rolle des Mentees

Mentee Dein Ziel, Deine Rolle.

Ein Mentee ist ein Mensch mit Vision und viel Leidenschaft. Begleitet und unterstützt durch den richtigen Mentor, arbeitet ein Mentee zielstrebig an der Verwirklichung seiner Träume und Ziele.

Im Vordergrund des Charakters steht vor allem das starke Streben nach persönlicher und beruflicher Weiterentwicklung. Im gemeinsamen Mentoring Programm zeichnet es einen Mentee aus, die Initiative zu ergreifen. Die Suche nach konstruktivem Feedback, sowie Ermutigung und Zuspruch, bilden dabei die Kerneigenschaften. Ein Mentee sieht den Weg zum Erfolg in seiner Passion.

Mentee 10 Gebote zu Deinem Erfolg

  1. Vorbereitung ist das A&O.
    Nichts ist wertvoller als gemeinsame Zeit. Nutze vorhandene Materialien und Ressourcen von Mentor Lane, um die Zeit mit Deinem Mentor möglichst effizient zu gestalten. Gehe Unterlagen der vergangenen Sitzungen durch, bevor Du zum nächsten Meeting antrittst.
  2. Aktives Zuhören.
    Höre aktiv zu. Entwickle ein besseres Verständnis Deiner selbst. Hintergründe, Situationen und die Perspektive Deines Mentors helfen Dir dabei.
  3. Initiative ergreifen.
    Dein Mentor ist bereit Dir zu helfen. Nimm dieses Angebot an und ergreife Die Initiative in der Kommunikation mit ihm. Vereinbare Treffen, um Dich zu organisieren, Fragen zu stellen und euch mit gemeinsamen Themen auseinander zu setzen. Übernimm persönliche Verantwortung und wirke aktiv an Deiner Mentoring-Beziehung mit.
  4. Perspektiven erkennen und verstehen.
    Dein Mentor und Du befinden sich in unterschiedlichen Lebensphasen. Abhängig von persönlichen und kulturellen Hintergründen zeugst Du von unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen, Werten und Ambitionen. Erkenne diese Vielseitigkeit in der Perspektive an und profitiere dadurch. Entwickle  ein Verständnis für die Existenz und Gültigkeit dieser Unterschiede. Eine objektive Betrachtung verhilft zu ergiebigen Diskussionen und besseren Resultaten in Deiner Zielsetzung.
  5. Fokus halten.
    Verliere nie den Fokus. Nutze Deine Treffen effizient und arbeite an der Erreichung eurer festgelegten Meilensteine. Erweise Respekt und schweife bei gemeinsamen Meetings nicht von euren Kernpunkten ab.
  6. Professionalität wahren.
    Bewahre Diskretion, gestehe Fehler ein und übernimm Verantwortung dafür. Behalte Deine endgültige Zielsetzung immer im Blick. Vermeide unangebrachte Themen, Anmerkungen und Gesten. Bleibe in jeder Hinsicht professionell im Umgang mit Deinem Mentor.
  7. Kritik und Feedback zulassen.
    Dein Mentor wird Dir kritisches Feedback entgegenbringen und Ratschläge erteilen. Erfasse diese nicht als Angriff Deiner Person gegenüber. Lass Dich auf objektive Vorschläge ein und erweitere Deinen Horizont. Durch verschiedene Sichtweisen öffnen sich sprichwörtlich neue Türen.
  8. Kritik und Feedback geben.
    Auch Dein Mentor ist nicht perfekt. Nicht jedes Feedback, jede Meinung oder jeder Rat Deines Mentors führt Dich zum gewünschten Erfolg. Behalten Sie Ihren Stil bei und hinterfragen Sie kritisch. Äußern Sie Zweifel und Kritik mit Respekt. Besprechen Sie Ihre Themen taktvoll und erzielen Sie lukrative Ergebnisse durch einen einzigartigen Austausch.
  9. Mentoring bedeutet Partnerschaft.
    Der Fokus des Mentoring liegt auf der beruflichen und persönlichen Weiterentwicklung eines Individuums. Konzentriere Dich nicht darauf, bestimmte Fähigkeiten oder Kompetenzen von Deinem Mentor zu erlernen. Gib selbst Anreize und lass Deinen Mentor von frischen Ideen profitieren. Hilf auch Deinem Mentor in der Erweiterung seines Horizonts. Teile Erfolge und Misserfolge und kreiere ein Miteinander.
  10. Commitment.
    Mentoring bedeutet Verpflichtung für Dich und vor allem für Deinen Mentor. Nimm Dir ausreichend Zeit für Deinen Gegenüber. Je mehr Arbeit ihr investiert, desto größer auch euer Profit. Sei pünktlich, vermeide kurzfristige Absagen bei gemeinsamen Treffen und sorge für Erreichbarkeit bei wichtigen Anliegen.

Mentor Lane? Ja, ich will.

Melden Sie sich an und entdecken Sie neue Perspektiven. Entwickeln Sie sich weiter!