fbpx

Role of a mentor

Mentor Your role? The co-driver.

A mentor acts as a leading figure and role model. By asking uncomfortable questions and communicating unwritten rules from the professional field, mentors support unique personalities of tomorrow.

The core tasks of a mentor include providing assistance, support and guidance to their mentee as well as developing their skills and personality in a professional manner. But not only does a mentee benefit from the expertise and knowledge of their mentor. Through their advisory activities as teachers, managers, consultants and problem solvers, mentors sharpen their own perspectives and deepen their competencies.

Mentor 10 commandments for successful mentoring

1. Preparation is key

Nothing is more valuable than the time spent together. Benefit from Mentor Lane’s existing materials and resources to use your time with your mentee as efficiently as possible. Review materials from past sessions before moving on with the next meeting.

2. Send and receive

Act as both a contact person and listener. Develop a better understanding of your mentee’s situation, self-assessment and perspective.

3. Create trust

Share anecdotes from your personal and professional past with your mentee. Help them identify with you, so that they can transfer possible options of action to their own circumstances. Create a foundation of trust and sharpen your mentee’s competence to judge.

4. Recognize and understand perspectives

You and your mentee are in different phases of your lives. Depending on personal and cultural backgrounds, you are a testimony of different experiences, values and ambitions. Acknowledge and develop an understanding for those versatile perspectives and benefit from them. Develop an understanding of the existence and validity of these differences. Having an objective view will help you have fruitful discussions, which will bring you closer to your common goal.

5. Give advice without giving advice

Do not give instructions for action. Rather, ask guiding questions, so that your mentee can identify potential consequences themselves. The objective is for them to draw their own conclusions and correctly assess upcoming decisions. Offer orientation, but allow your mentee to develop her own solutions. However, it is not forbidden to suggest solutions.

6. Maintain professionalism

Clear and sincere communication is not always pleasant. Maintain discretion in every respect, admit mistakes and take accountability for them. Always keep your goals in mind. Avoid inappropriate topics, remarks and gestures. Always remain professional in your handling with each other.

7. Be a role model

You have a role model function. Your mentee strives for the success you may have already achieved. Be careful that your mentee does not try to copy you. Potential weaknesses and skeptical behavior should not be adopted and become a habit. Rather, support your mentee in finding out which behavior is appropriate in which situation. All decisions should be made according to the personality of your mentee.

8. Encouragement and support

Your mentee is in an emotionally exciting phase of their life. There will be times you need to assist your mentee. Listen to your mentee and provide support during setbacks to regain optimism, self-confidence and self-esteem. Don’t solve their problems, but help them help themselves.

9. Success through structure

Establish clear and unambiguous conditions for both parties. The more concrete your planning, the more efficient the mentoring. Help your mentee to identify specific goals and become aware of necessary steps. Avoid ambiguity. Effective questioning and analysis as well as insightful feedback lead to clear reflection and better learning outcomes. A clear and comprehensible structure is half the way to success. Use our planning game to structure your mentoring.

10. Commitment

Being a mentor is a commitment. Take enough time for your mentee. The more work you invest, the greater your yield. Be punctual, avoid canceling meetings at short notice and make sure you are available for important issues.

Mentor Lane? – Yes, please.

Sign up and receive your exclusive invitation to the Mentor Lane platform and community.

Mentor

More questions?
Contact us.

(+49) 69 3487 4601
hello@mentorlane.com

fbpx

Rolle des Mentors

Mentor Deine Rolle? Der Beifahrer.

Ein Mentor fungiert als Leitfigur und Vorbild. Mittels unbequemer Fragen und dem Kommunizieren ungeschriebener Regeln aus dem Berufsfeld, fördern Mentoren die Ausbildung einzigartiger Persönlichkeiten von Morgen.

Zu den Kernaufgaben eines Mentors zählen u.a. die Hilfestellung, Unterstützung und Begleitung, sowie die Entwicklung der Fähigkeiten und Persönlichkeit des Mentees in beruflicher Hinsicht. Doch nicht nur ein Mentee profitiert von der Expertise und dem Wissen seines Mentors. Durch die beratende Tätigkeit als Lehrer, Manager, Berater und Problemlöser, schärfen Mentoren ihre Sichtweise und vertiefen ihre Kompetenzen.

Mentor 10 Gebote für ein erfolgreiches Mentoring

1. Vorbereitung ist das A&O

Nichts ist wertvoller als gemeinsame Zeit. Nutze vorhandene Materialien und Ressourcen von Mentor Lane, um die Zeit mit Deinem Mentee möglichst effizient zu gestalten. Gehe Unterlagen der vergangenen Sitzungen durch, bevor Du zum nächsten Meeting antrittst.

2. Senden und Empfangen

Agiere als Ansprechpartner und Zuhörer zugleich. Entwickle dadurch ein besseres Verständnis der Ausgangssituation, Selbsteinschätzung und Perspektive Deines Mentees.

3. Schaffe Vertrauen

Teile Anekdoten aus Deiner persönlichen und beruflichen Vergangenheit. Hilf Deinem Mentee sich mit Dir zu identifizieren, um mögliche Handlungsoptionen auf die eigenen Umstände zu übertragen. Schafft eine neue Vertrauensbasis zueinander und schärfe das Beurteilungsvermögen Deines Mentees. 

4. Perspektiven erkennen und verstehen

Dein Mentee und Du befinden sich in unterschiedlichen Lebensphasen. Abhängig von persönlichen und kulturellen Hintergründen zeugst Du von verschiedenartigen Erfahrungen, Werten und Ambitionen. Erkenne die Vielseitigkeit der Perspektive an und profitiere dadurch. Entwickle ein Verständnis für die Existenz und Gültigkeit dieser Unterschiede. Eine objektive Betrachtung verhilft zu ergiebigen Diskussionen und besseren Resultaten in der gemeinsamen Zielsetzung.

5. Rat geben ohne Rat zu geben

Gib keine Handlungsanweisung vor. Stelle anleitende Fragen, die es dem Mentee erlauben, potenzielle Konsequenzen zu erkennen. Die Zielsetzung liegt in der eigenen Schlussfolgerung und der richtigen Einschätzung bevorstehender Entscheidungen. Biete Orientierung, doch erlaube Deinem Mentee, eigene Lösungen zu entwickeln. Sofern sich eine Situation nicht als zielführend erweist, so ist es jedoch nicht verboten, Lösungsvorschläge vorzugeben.

6. Professionalität wahren

Klare und aufrichtige Kommunikation ist nicht immer angenehm. Bewahre in jeder Hinsicht Diskretion, gestehe Fehler ein und übernehme Verantwortung dafür. Behalte eure Zielsetzung immer im Blick. Vermeide unangebrachte Themen, Bemerkungen und Gesten. Bleibe stets professionell im Umgang miteinander.

7. Vorbildfunktion

Du besitzt eine Vorbildfunktion. Dein Mentee strebt nach dem Erfolg, den Du unter Umständen schon verzeichnet hast. Pass auf, dass Dein Mentee nicht versucht Dich zu kopieren. Potenzielle Schwächen und skeptische Verhaltensweisen sollen nicht übernommen und zur Gewohnheit werden. Unterstütze Deinen Mentee vielmehr dabei, herauszufinden, welches Verhalten in welcher Situation angemessen ist. Jegliche Entscheidungen sollten der Persönlichkeit des Mentees entsprechend getroffen werden.

8. Zuspruch und Beistand

Dein Mentee befindet sich in einer emotional aufregenden Phase seines Lebens. Hierbei wird es Zeiten geben, in denen Du als Mentor Beistand leisten musst. Höre Deinem Mentee aufrichtig zu und unterstütze bei Niederschlägen, damit Zuversicht, Selbstvertrauen und Selbstbewusstsein wieder gewonnen werden. Löse nicht die Ursache, sondern leiste Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe. 

9. Erfolg durch Struktur

Schaffe klare und eindeutige Verhältnisse für beide Parteien. Je prägnanter die Ausarbeitung der Zielsetzungen für gesetzte Meilensteine, desto effizienter das Mentoring. Hilf Deinem Mentee dabei, spezifische Ziele zu identifizieren und sich über notwendige Schritte klar zu werden. Vermeide Mehrdeutigkeit. Effektives Hinterfragen und Analysieren, sowie aussagekräftiges Feedback führen zur klaren Reflexion und besseren Lernergebnissen. Eine, für beide Seiten, verständliche und sinnvolle Struktur ist der halbe Weg zum Erfolg. Nutze zur Strukturierung unser Planungsspiel.

10. Commitment

Mentoring bedeutet Verpflichtung. Nimm Dir ausreichend Zeit für Deinen Mentee. Je mehr Arbeit Du investierst, desto größer ist auch Dein Profit. Sei pünktlich, vermeide kurzfristige Absagen bei gemeinsamen Treffen und sorge für Erreichbarkeit bei wichtigen Anliegen.

Mentor Lane? – Ja, ich will.

Registriere Dich und erhalte Deine exklusive Einladung zur Mentor Lane Plattform und Community.

Mentor

Noch Fragen?
Kontaktiere uns.

(+49) 69 3487 4601
hello@mentorlane.com